Engaging Women in the Built Environment

Speakers announced!

If we are going to reach 50% women in leadership roles by 2025 in the Built Environment industries we need to work together in new and innovative ways.

Continuing from the success of our 2016 initiative, please join us for an evening with 20 Built Environment women, from industry and academia, who will have 2 - 3 minutes to present:

1.       Their professional background

2.       What they're known for

3.       How they can help other women in the Built Environment e.g. mentoring, internships, employment, research collaborations etc.

Following the presentations, we would be pleased for you to join the presenters and others for a networking event. This is a great opportunity to connect with women from all areas and levels of industry and to establish relationships with those you share mutual interests.

The previous Engaging Women in the Built Environment event was booked out so don’t miss out, book your place now.

Presenters include:

Abbie Galvin | Principal, BVN

Dr. Afroditi Synnefa | Senior Research Fellow, UNSW School of Built Environment

Alessandra Fabbri | Architect, Urban Planner and Emergent Technologies Researcher, UNSW School of Built Environment

Allison Heller | Manager of Social Strategy, City of Sydney

Annie Tennant | General Manager, Sustainability and Culture, Barangaroo South at Lendlease

Bridget Smyth | Design Director, City of Sydney

Associate Professor Catherine Bridge | Associate Dean of Research, UNSW School of Built Environment

Catherine Hart | Head of Design at Roberts Pizzarotti

Caroline Pidcock | Founding Director Pidcock Architecture + Sustainability

Cushla McFadden & Jade Nottage | Founding Directors, TomMarkHenry

Fatemah Aminpour | PhD Candidate, UNSW School of Built Environment

Justine Clark | Parlour: women, equity, architecture

Dr. Libby Gallagher | Director, Gallagher Studio 

Dr. Maryam Gusheh | Director of Architecture, UNSW School of Built Environment

Min Kong | Industrial Designer, Blue Sky Design

Dr. Nancy Marshall | Senior Lecturer, Planning, UNSW School of Built Environment  

Associate Professor Oya Demirbilek | Associate Dean of Education, UNSW School of Built Environment  

Phoebe Pape | Head of Landscape Architecture, FJMT

Sara Padgett Kjaersgaard | Lecturer, Landscape Architecture, UNSW School of Built Environment  

Simone Oliver I Partner, Geyer

Siobhan Toohill | Head of Sustainability and Community, Westpac

Adjunct Professor Lucy Turnbull AO, Chief Commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission will join us on the night to announce the winner of the Turnbull Foundation Women in the Built Environment Scholarship.


2017 Engaging Women in the Built Environment Event:


Event date: 
09 Aug 2017 6:30pm to 8:30pm