Architectural Studies

BE Head of School

Dr Philip Oldfield
Head of School


Professor David Sanderson
Inaugural Judith Neilson Chair in Architecture
Professor Glenn Murcutt
Professor Mattheos Santamouris

Associate Professor

Associate Professor Lan Ding
Convenor of High Performance Architecture Research Cluster
Associate Professor Dijana Alic
Associate Dean - Education

Senior Lecturer

John Gamble
Dr Paola Favaro
Coordinator Postgraduate Research
Dr Peter Kohane
Dr Paul Hogben
Ainslie Murray


John Carrick

Industry Teachers

UNSW Built Environment is committed to providing education that is broad and deep. We have strong industry links and partnerships and our students gain professional experience before they graduate through work integrated learning, career ready mentoring program and working on real world projects. Here is the list of industry professionals who teach our students. 

Craig Burton Director Cabconsulting Pty Ltd
Hugo Chan Architectural Graduate Cracknell & Lonergan Architects
Peter Chivers Director Assemblage Architecture
Hayden Co'burn Architectural Project Manager CplusC Architectural Workshop
James (Jim) Colman Principal  James Colman - consultant in urban and environmental planning 
Nabeel Darwish Associate - Fire Engineering LCI
John Dimopoulos Director Geoform design architects
Ashley Dunn Director Dunn & Hillam Architects
Kent Elliott Director  Space Workshop
Jose Garcia Director - Architect Garcia Negrette Architecture & Design
Yvonne Haber Architect Yvonne Haber Architect
Geoff Hanmer Managing Director ARINA
William Haviland Architectural Assistant  Grimshaw Architects
Ivan Ip Associate, Urban Designer + Architect  Architectus 
Jane Johnson Director Jane Johnson Architects
Harry Kealy Graduate Architectural Designer Cox Architecture
Jon King Director  Design King Company Pty Ltd
Theo  Krallis  Associate Director  Turner 
Michael Lewarne Director Redshift Architecture & Art
Wendy Lewin  Architect Wendy Lewin Architect
Zhixiong Lin Senior Architect AJ+C
Chris Lockhart Smith Director ecodweller sustainability assessments
Jesse Lockhart-Krause Director Lockhart-Krause Architects
Jed Long Co-Founder, Project Director Cave Urban
Guy Luscombe Principal System Architects
Sam Marshall Director Architect Marshall Pty Ltd
Samuel Massey Senior Project Leader Rothelowman Architects
Antonio Murace Technical Director-Architecture GHD Pty Ltd
Glenn O'Loughlin Director Sol Architects
Anita Panov Director panovscott
Mano Ponnambalam Director ManoArchitects
Mladen Prnjatović Director Tzannes
Matthew Pullinger Director Matthew Pullinger Architect
Andrew Scott Director panovscott Architects
Lachlan Seegers Director Lachlan Seegers Architect
Yasemin Tekmen Araci Learning Designer University of Technology Sydney
Alyce Thompson Graduate Architect BKA Architecture
Antoinette Trimble Director Antelope
Vesna Trobec Associate  Dickson Rothschild / Studio Trobec
Andrew Wallace Senior Associate Populous
Tone Wheeler Director and Principal Architect environa studio